What is Kosher?

     Kosher is a term originally used to denote that which is “fit” and “proper”. Most often, it is used to describe foods that are permitted to be eaten by people who observe Jewish dietary law.

      Foods may be rendered non-kosher for a variety of reasons: species of animal, improper slaughtering or processing procedures, mixing of meat and dairy ingredients, use of ingredients derived from non-kosher sources, preparation of food with non-kosher utensils or equipment.

      Kashrus, the word used to describe the concept of dietary laws, pertains to the types of food permitted for consumption and their preparation. Each category of food is subject to certain of these laws.

     
   
Site Map
HOME | NEWLY CERTIFIED | PRODUCTS | STORE DIRECTORY
KOSHER ALERTS | F.A.Q. | CONTACT US | FORMS